Skip to content ↓
  • Positivity
  • Respect
  • Independence
  • Diversity
  • Excellence

Safeguarding Statement

At Westfield Primary School we recognise our moral and statutory responsibility to safeguard and promote the welfare of all pupils. We endeavour to provide a safe and welcoming environment where children are respected and valued and feel confident to talk if they are worried, believing they will be effectively listened to. We are alert to the signs of abuse and neglect and follow our procedures to ensure that children receive effective support, protection and justice. Child protection forms part of the school’s safeguarding responsibilities. We expect all staff, governors and volunteers to share this commitment to safeguarding our pupils.

We follow the Surrey Safeguarding Children Board procedures and have a number of policies and procedures in place which contribute to our safeguarding commitment, including our Child Protection & Safeguarding Policy. A copy of this policy is available on this website.

Our Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) is Mrs Julia Findlay – (Inclusion Leader). Telephone: 01483 764187.

Our Deputy Safeguarding Leads are:

Mrs Karyn Hing (Headteacher). Telephone: 01483 764187.

Miss Francesca Cave (Deputy Head). Telephone: 01483 764187.

Miss Stephanie Lee (Children’s Support Manager). Email: Telephone: 01483 764187

Miss Philippa Goddard ( Maternity cover Children's Support Manager) Email: Telephone: 01483 764187

Mrs Joanna Phillips (Assistant Head). Telephone: 01483 764187

Mrs Claire Lee ( Year 3 Teacher) Telephone: 01483 764187

The Governor with responsibility for safeguarding in our school is Mrs Janet Dunn. Telephone: 01483 764187

If you are concerned about a child’s welfare, please record your concern, and any observations or conversation heard, and report to one of the DSLs as soon as possible on the same day. Do NOT conduct your own investigation.

The Multi-Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) can be contacted on 0300 470 9100 or out of hours on 01483 517898, email