Skip to content ↓
  • Positivity
  • Respect
  • Independence
  • Diversity
  • Excellence


Westfield Primary School is a member of the EEEA Trust (Engage, Enrich, Excel Academy Trust), having joined in July 2018. The EEEA has a Board of Trustees who act as the Governing Board for all the academy schools. Each school in the academy also has its own governors who sit on the school’s Local Advisory Board. The Local Advisory Boards feed into the overarching Trust Board, and are responsible for governance at the local, school level. These arrangements are intended to ensure high quality, transparent and efficient governance which meets statutory and contractual expectations as well.

At Westfield Primary we have an enthusiastic and engaged Local Advisory Committee, all of whom take a keen interest in the daily workings of the school. As a ‘critical friend’ (eyes on, hands off approach) our governors are invaluable to the school and bring their varied expertise to good effect.

The members of the Local Advisory Committee are appointed for a term of four years. Each term there are two Full Local Advisory Committees (FLACs) which all governors attend, one has a Resources focus and the other a Children & Learning focus. These meetings are closed meetings.

The role of the Local Advisory Committee is a strategic one, considering, monitoring and/ or approving:

* aims and objectives for the school

* statutory policies delegated to the LAC for achieving those aims and objectives

* School Improvement targets for achieving those aims and objectives

* the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives through strategic evaluation

The FLAC meeting with the Resources focus will consider the school budget and discuss income and spending matters. It also has responsibility for the health and safety of the school through regular premises inspections and management of the maintenance programme.

The FLAC meeting with the Children & Learning focus will monitor progress of all pupils’ achievement including the effectiveness of intervention groups and the creative curriculum programme. They will also receive information on, and monitor, the quality of teaching and learning across the school.

Chair of the Local Advisory Committee: Mr. Anthony Spence, Westfield Primary School, Bonsey Lane, Westfield, Woking GU22 9PR.

Governors can be contacted  via the email or school office,



Category of Governor

Term of office

Appointing Body


Position held

Mrs Karyn Hing

Head Teacher


Automatic as Head

Resources and Children & Learning

Head Teacher

Mr Anthony Spence



School Governing Body


Chair of  Governors


Mr Darran


Parent Governor 9/3/20-9/3/24 School Parent FLAC  
Mr John Bothman Co-opted 9/3/20-9/3/24 School Governing Body FLAC  
Mrs Alexandra Cooke Co-opted 25/03/19-24/3/23 School Governing Body FLAC  
Ms Janet Dunn Co-opted 27/3/18-20/3/22 School Governing Body FLAC  
Miss Stephanie Lee Staff Governor 25/3/19-24/3/23 School Staff FLAC  


Miss Kerry Lewis






Governing Body



Mrs Katey


Parent Governor


School Parent